

HENRY MARION HOWE MEDAL

I. DEFINITION AND HISTORY

The Henry Marion Howe Medal, established in 1923 in recognition of Dr. Henry Marion Howe's many accomplishments, is the oldest of the ASM awards and medals. The Medal, designed by Hendrick Hilbom, chief designer of R. Wallace and Sons Manufacturing Company, Wallingford, Connecticut, consists of a bust of Dr. Howe with the following inscription on the obverse side: "ASM International, awarded to the Author of the Paper of Highest Merit published in the Metallurgical and Materials Transactions."

Henry Marion Howe (1848-1922), a native of Boston, was educated at Harvard and MIT. He held executive positions with several steel mills and with copper and nickel plants served as a metallurgical consultant, and later became Professor of Metallurgy at Columbia University, which position he held until his retirement in 1913 and continued as Professor Emeritus until his death in 1922.

Dr. Howe's chief contributions to the scientific world were through innovations in the science of metallography that stemmed from his great powers of observation and deduction. His ability to correlate and interpret each discovery and investigation by others and to supplement them by investigations of his own resulted in the establishment of a new science dealing with the constitution of iron and steel. Dr. Howe was elected to Honorary Membership in ASM in 1919.

It is ASM's commitment to be inclusive and mindful of diversity in our policies, programs, courses, awards, and interactions with others. As an organization, we affirm and encourage nominations of qualified candidates, within each award's criteria, regardless of their age, culture, ethnic origin, gender, gender identity, marital status, nationality, race, religion, sexual orientation, and socioeconomic status.

II. <u>RULES</u>

- A. ASM International membership is not mandatory.
- B. Candidates for the award consist of author(s) of papers published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions during the calendar year preceding that in which the award is to be made. The Medal is awarded to that author (or authors) whose paper is judged best of the year by the Award Selection Committee. The award may be awarded more than once to the same author(s).
- C. An individual cannot receive the Howe Medal and the Grossmann Award in the same year.
- D. Specific criteria for evaluation of papers and selection of recipients are left to the judgment of the Selection Committee.
- E. The recipient or at least one of the co-recipients shall be living at the time the award selection is submitted by the Award Selection Committee.

HENRY MARION HOWE MEDAL

III. PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION OF AWARD

The award shall consist of a medal and a certificate.

IV. AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE

- A. <u>Appointments</u>
 - 1. Individual members and the chair of the Award Selection Committee shall be selected and appointed by the Awards Policy Committee.
- B. <u>Composition and Tenure</u>
 - 1. The committee shall be made up of a balance of individuals from industrial and/or government research organizations and academia, who are familiar with technical research publications.
 - 2. The committee, who also serves as the Marcus A. Grossmann Early Career Author Award Selection Committee, shall consist of nine members.
 - 3. The tenure for members of the committee shall be three years, on a rotating basis with no more than one-third of the members replaced in any one year.
- C. <u>Report of Selection Committee</u>
 - 1. The committee shall review and evaluate the papers published by eligible authors in Metallurgical Transactions during the year preceding that in which the award is to be made. Based on this review, the committee shall determine the best paper and shall, by May 1st of the year in which the award is to be made, submit to the Awards Policy Committee their report, naming the recipient(s) of the award for that year, indicating the title of the paper and its publication information.